Subscribe to Syndicate

The Academic and Special Libraries Section (A&SL)


Contact: Eva Hornung

Officers & Committee 2016/2017


Chairperson: Dr. Eva Hornung (CDETB Curriculum Development Unit/Trinity College Dublin)

Secretary: Caitríona Honohan (Trinity College Dublin)  
Treasurer: Laoise Doherty (Royal Irish Academy of Music) 


Support Officers

Membership Officer: Marie Cullen (Maynooth University)

Communications Officer: Laura Rooney Ferris (Irish Hospice Foundation)

Committee Members

Lorraine Curran; Seán Hughes (Trinity College Dublin); Tom Maher (University College Dublin and The Forgotten Zine Archive)Deirdre McGuinness (William Fry); Erin O’Mahony (Houses of the Oireachtas); Niamh O’Sullivan (Irish Blood Transfusion Service); Maria Rogers (Barnados).


Rules and Procedures


The Academic & Special Libraries Section functions within the Library Association of Ireland to cater for the needs of librarians and information professionals working in academic, research, not-for-profit, corporate and other specialist libraries. The Committee is drawn from members working in all these sectors. The Committee meets monthly. Any items that a member would like to bring to the attention of the Committee, for discussion or information, should be e-mailed to the Secretary. The primary function of the Section is to provide a forum for discussion on issues relevant to academic and special librarians and information professionals and carries out this remit through the provision of seminars, workshops, talks and visits.These activities are open to all members and are advertised on the LAI website, Facebook, Twitter and via email


Members can join our emailing list by sending an e-mail to


Members can post to the list by sending an e-mail to


Become a fan of the A&SL section on Facebook at or follow us on Twitter: or @ASLIBRARIES


We also have a presence on Flickr!


Got a another query? Please contact our Webmaster.



Past committee members

Jane Burns (Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland), 2007-2011
Áine Carey (O’Connor) (Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland), 2005-2013
Jennifer Collery (University College Dublin), 2010-2013
Aoife Connolly (PricewaterhouseCoopers), 2007-2013
Lorraine Curran, 2013-2015
Jessica Eustace-Cook (Trinity College Dublin), 2010-2014
Olivia Fitzpatrick (UCC) (retired), 2005-2009
Patrick Hughes (Setanta Sports), 2006-2009
Margaret Irons (Kelly) (School of Celtic Studies, DIAS), 2007-2013
Graham Long (Citizens Information Board), 2007-2009
Mick O'Dwyer (European Parliament Library), 2014-2016
Sile O'Shea (King's Inns), 2013-2015
Ann O'Sullivan (Houses of the Oireachtas), 2005-2015
Caitriona Sharkey (Ernst & Young), 1990s, 2005-2013
Kathryn Smith (TCD), 2006-2010
Grace Toland (Irish Traditional Music Archive), 2009-2010