Subscribe to Syndicate

Public Libraries' Section

Chairperson: Mary Murphy, Meath County Council Library Service

Vice Chair: Emer Donaghue, Galway County Council Library Service

Treasurer: Pat Lonergan, Kildare County Libraries, Jackie McIntyre Laois Library Service

Secretary:  Melanie Cunningham, Waterford City Libraries


Members of the Committee 2015/16

  • Jo Vahey
  • John Shortall



The Public Libraries Section of the Library Association of Ireland represents all library grades from Branch Librarian to Senior Executive Librarian. The Section’s Committee, which meets a number of times a year, is made up of members from across the country and aims to be as geographically representative as possible.


It concerns itself with matters relevant to all the afore-mentioned grades, but is particularly interested in the provision of ongoing training for library staff. To this end, the Section organises an Annual Conference, open to all library grades, every Autumn, which this year is to be held in Cork.


The Section also endeavours to arrange occasional seminars and visits at other times of the year, when possible. In order to continue to provide these activities, the Public Libraries’ Section urgently needs new and interested members for our committee.